Dancin’ John

Hey folks!

Here’s a great take on the classic recipe Hoppin’ John, this one is vegetarian friendly and that’s what gives it its twist. I can’t wait to try it!

Dancin’ John

And for the meat lovers out there: Hoppin’ John

I cooked my first patch of Crowder Peas in my crock pot. In with the peas I threw in 2 cups of chicken stock (homemade from the chickens we received in our CSA), a large helping of cherry tomatoes, a bit of onion, garlic, basil, and a healthy dash of pepper sauce – and of course salt and pepper. Oh, and I tiny piece of smoked sausage. I let it simmer all afternoon and fill my house with mouthwatering aroma. When it came time to eat I was not disappointed, it was delicious!

Next time, I’ll take photos and write down measurements. You guys do the same and please share with us your delightful food concoctions!

I hope you all have a delicious day!

2 responses to “Dancin’ John

  1. Any tips on how to make shelling those delicious cowpeas a little easier?

Leave a Reply

