Escarole Endive

We are getting Escarole Endive in tomorrow’s CSA share and I wanted to share with some recipes.

But first here’s a little description of what Escarole is: “Escarole, or broad-leaved endive has broad, pale green leaves and is less bitter than the other varieties. Varieties or names include broad-leaved endive, Bavarian endive, Batavian endive, grumolo, scarola, and scarole. It is eaten like other greens, sauteed, chopped into soups and stews, or as part of a green salad.”

Chickpea Escarole Stew

Sauteed Escarole with Parmesan and Toasted Pine Nuts

Escarole Recipes from Mariquita Farm’s CSA – there are a TON of recipes here.

Escarole and Beans

Fettuccine with Escarole and Brie

Don’t these recipes sound amazing!!?

 

(Photo credit: Photos are from the recipe’s website.)

2 responses to “Escarole Endive

  1. I like you website and your facebook page. I am starting a new CSA this year, and I would love an opportunity to come out and check out your farm. I would appreciate any tips you can give me about starting up. I was also think about putting recipe cards in my boxes for my CSA member, and I really like the look you have here.

    Keep it Green
    JP

  2. Gorgeous photos! I love the look of the chickpeas with escarole – especially with the egg on top.

Leave a Reply

