Confit or Not Confit?

Dining at Farm Burger last night, I wasn’t terribly surprised by how well-prepared and delicious my meal was.  That’s pretty much a given.  However, there was one addition to my lamb burger that really stood out.  A sweet pepper confit??  I’d always thought of confit as fowl preserved in fat?  After all,  that method exemplified my only encounters with confit.  Admittedly, I don’t get out much.  This morning I decided to actually research confit instead of resting on my misguided, preconceived notions of it.  It’s amazing how little digging I had to do to find that I couldn’t be further from realizing the vastness of confit.

Arriving from the French word “confire,” simply meaning “to preserve,” confit can incorporate not only fowl but other types of meat, fruits, and vegetables.  In fact, it’s origins are first documented in the preservation of fruit with sugar.  Who would’ve thunk it?  Not me, obviously.  I’ve been eating confit in many variations throughout my entire life without even realizing it.  I have some favorites for sure but I highly recommend a sweet pepper confit, like the kind I devoured last night.  As well, it’s super easy to prepare despite how intimidating “confit” can sound.  What’s even more terrific, when properly canned, you can enjoy it throughout the year.

I’ve included a link to Gabrielle Arnold’s recipe (from Honest Fare) to her garlic and sweet pepper confit that’s so easy I will certainly be making some.  It has many simple applications but first on my list is to spread it on crostini with some chevre and arugula.  Yum!

http://honestfare.com/garlic-sweet-pepper-confit/

-Russ

 

(Thanks, Russ, for the awesome guest blog post. If any fellow CSA members would like to guest post on this here blog, let us know. We’d love to have you!)

Leave a Reply

