Eggplant Bacon?!

I had no idea that eggplant could be used as a bacon substitute! I’ve been cooking eggplant like this for awhile, and wanted to find a recipe to share, but I eat it as crisps and have never tried it in place of bacon. I will have to try it on my next BLT! Eggplant is delicious when cut into thin slices and then cooked until crisp. Instead of using soy sauce and liquid smoke, I use Bragg’s Liquid Amino Acids (which can be found in most grocery stores’ health food sections.) I hope y’all enjoy this recipe, either as a bacon substitute or as yummy, crispy chips!

Also, this recipe calls for 1 pound of eggplant, but could easily be cut down to using just one large eggplant, which is what I do and cut back on the seasoning.

Eggplant Bacon

1 pound eggplant, cut into 1/8 inch thick strips
1/4 cup soy sauce (or tamari if you’re gluten free)
1 teaspoon liquid smoke
Cooking spray

Click here for the full recipe: Eggplant Bacon

Love is Love

Leave a comment